This website uses cookies to improve users experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. Find out more here

JAH JAZZ ORCHESTRA - Introducing Jah Jazz Orchestra - CD View larger

JAH JAZZ ORCHESTRA - Introducing Jah Jazz Orchestra - CD


New product

JAH JAZZ ORCHESTRA - Introducing Jah Jazz Orchestra - CD

More details

10,00 €

More info


Label: Brixton Records BR-048-CD

Format: CD Album

Year: 2020

Jah Jazz Orchestra is an ensemble of jazzmen active on the Swiss, French and European scene that goes back to the roots of Ska – initially, and in extreme summary, a Jamaican take on American jazz and rhythm’n’blues - to deliver its own blend of groove, improvisation and big-band arrangements.

This debut album revisits compositions from jazz legends such as Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, Dizzy Gillespie and Joe Henderson as well as two classics from The Skatalites repertoire (Ska La Parisienne and King Solomon). The original arrangements set these tunes in grooves ranging from classic ska to reggae, strolling through rocksteady, with the ever presence of Jamaican jazz and the influence of artists such as The Skatalites, Ernest Ranglin, Jazz Jamaica…

Beyond this diversity, the unity of “Introducing Jah Jazz Orchestra” is hinted at by its title: it introduces the listener to a new band with a distinctive sound. A powerful horn section that can build a massive wall of sound as well as intricate lines and fiery solos. A rock-solid rhythm section that knows how and when to react in an interactive way.



01. - Ska La Parisienne

02. - Just Ska with Me

03. - Black Narcissus

04. - Fools Rush In

05. - Work Song

06. - King Solomon

07. - The Mystery Song

08. - Manteska

09. - St. Louis Skank (*)

10. - Tin Tin Deo

11. – Nutville

12. – Let’s Cool One (*)


(*) Not on LP